MacOSX: Installing PAW and PAW++

Normally, PAW and PAW++ comes after your cernlib installation. If you didn’t install cernlib before, all you need to do is writing the following command in your terminal window

$ fink install cernlib

Click here to learn how you can install package manager ‘FINK’ on your Macbook.

As a more advanced version of PAW, you can use PAW++ only if you also have the right components installed. Otherwise you will get an error like;

dyld: Library not loaded: /sw/lib/libXm.2.dylib
Referenced from: /usr/bin/paw++
Reason: image not found
Trace/BPT trap

SW is your fink folder. So the error prompts that you have a missing library file related with lesstif package. So write the following;

$ fink install lesstif

In a few minutes later, fink will download and install your missing library files and you can run paw++ writing it in your terminal window.

Tags: ,

About Kuday

Pure Mind

10 responses to “MacOSX: Installing PAW and PAW++”

  1. Mac says :

    I am trying to install paw++ (and cernlib) on my macbook pro (snow leopard). I have successfully installed fink, and did fink install cernlib. However, I cannot seem to find any cern directory installed or paw… I am really new at this and I was wondering if you can help me out.

    Thanks

  2. Kuday says :

    That’s true. Fink uses a separate directory called “sw”.
    So if you installed cernlib, it means you have also installed paw succesfully.
    open your terminal and write paw to see if it works well.

    For paw++, you have to install another package. On the command line, you can see the whole packages list by writing;
    $ fink list

    You will see a package called “cernlib-paw++”.
    $ fink install cernlib-paw++

    Above command will install paw++ if its dependencies are ok.
    Did this solve your problem??

  3. Mac says :

    When I type paw I get “command not found”. When I do frink list I see cernlib-paw and cernlib-paw++ but next to them it has [virtual package]… What am I doing wrong? I am currently reinstalling cernlib… this time by typing:
    fink install cernlib2005-gfortran-paw++-2005-3012
    What am I doing wrong?

  4. Kuday says :

    It doesn’t seem you installed cernlib properly.

    Do you get any errors during installation after you write fink install ….?

  5. Mac says :

    I havent seen any. Should I stop the cernlib2005-gfortran-paw++-2005-3012 installation and install cernlib again? I might have missed something…

  6. Kuday says :

    It shouldn’t take that long. If it doesn’t work for you, you can try to install cernlib manually. Actually that’s the best way. I think i should write a new post about it these days.

  7. Mac says :

    I would love to see that post… Can you let me know when its up? Thank you so much for your time and help, I will let you know when its done if it worked!

  8. Mac says :

    Both paw and paw++ work now… Thanks again for your help!

  9. Kuday says :

    Ok. Great!!

    I recommend you to take a look at my new entry about cernlib manual installation anyway.

    Cernlib Manual Installation

    Ciao!

  10. Tommie Hartsell says :

    Hey there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same outcome.

Leave a comment